My lazy thursday ;-p

27 Jan

so….. It is interesting that my blog entries seem to start more or less the same way – I am exhausted. On the way home on the train, I was reading the paper – there was an article about Londoners being so busy just trying to get somewhere, anywhere with the train and how commuting takes up so much of your time and energy. I am here to say that it is the truth. Therefore, when it is dark and freezing, you need something to look forward to. My little silver lining has always been cooking.. even though I am tired. Tonight however, the hubby had a team night out with his colleagues = no cooking = can’t cook for one = lazy dinner. Did I also mention it is my hero’s birthday today… yes.. my dad!! Ironically.. I had a little treat in the cupboard so that I can “share” his birthday with him here on the other side of the world. This entry is proudly sponsored by my mom, because she sent me All Gold Whole Green Figs in Syrup.

Everything is built around this delicacy of mine!! I absolutely love it, just like my dad!! He would secretly hide this little jar of beauty far away in the back of the fridge… I always found it though 🙂  So.. back to business.. since I always have various cheeses in my fridge.. you can guess what I had for dinner!! My man would never be happy just to have cheese for supper, so this is the only reason why I had this little piece of heaven 🙂 I took the cheese out of the fridge so that it is not too cold – cheese tastes best when it is room temperature… eaten with love and passion  ;-p   I took a few biscuits, placed it on a wooden board, along with Brie cheese, smoked chorizo slices and also another favourite of my dad’s – Roquefort Blue Cheese.  The grand finale – Whole Green Figs in syrup!! As a lady.. I should enjoy it with a lovely crisp, dry white wine… but there was an ice cold Duvel Beer in the fridge simply staring at me!! It has a soft, silky, caramel taste.. but not too dry either. As my husband always says – “Beeeeeaaaaaaaaauuuuutiful!!  I hope my dad had a wonderful birthday!! I miss him so much and I know, that as always, my mom has spoiled him rotten! Love you mom and dad xxxxxxx

2 Responses to “My lazy thursday ;-p”

  1. Marius January 30, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    Very cute !!

    Like

  2. conradsword January 30, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    WOW! what a great snackfest, where did you get the all gold green figs

    Like

Leave a Reply

