Killer Paella for the seafood addict ;-p

29 Jan

Firstly, before I even start telling you about this recipe.. put on some cuban or spanish music… it’s friday! Well, it was when I made my paella!! I came home, put on some cuban music (Putumayo) and poured myself a glass of white wine. The music however, is what put me in my element! Back home, my dad would put this on, playing from his huge speakers and automatically it would put you in a mood where you want to shake that booty your mama gave you! ;-p

That’s exactly what my mama and I do!! We each have a glass of wine, start chopping away on ingredients for whatever it is we are making and talk about everything and anything, while at the same time chasing the men out of the kitchen! They are always hungry! What made cooking fun in our house? My dad was quite a traveller and he took my mom along , so they enjoyed wonderful, honest food from different countries. yum!

This is what I am getting at – although we are an afrikaans family, we are definitely not a traditional afrikaans family.Let me give you an example: When I was little,  I started a lifelong,  loving relationship with olives! Yes, my dad hid those from me too! Do you know a 6 year old that would kill for olives? I was one!

So down to the point.. we love vegetables, salad, fruit and beautiful flavours!! Lucky me- my mom has always been a brilliant cook and she passed on her passion for cooking to me.  I think that is what makes her more beautiful, not that she needs it, because she is the most beautiful woman EVER! She is feminine,  a brilliant cook,  a wonderful, loving mother and partner and would do anything for her friends! i miss her sooooo much!  Ok, I know,  back to the point – when you have fresh ingredients, combine them with love and passion (exactly what my mother does) and your final product will be irresistable!

So here we go .. I had lovely ingredients lined on my counter.. a beautiful jamie oliver frying pan,( one of my babies and wonderful gift from the hubby) great music, a  lovely glass of wine… and an urge to spoil my husband with a beautiful dish for supper… So, paella was on the menu 🙂 Here we go!

Use your biggest frying pan you have – or your biggest saucepan – I used my Jamie Oliver pan, but halfway through transferred it to one of my Le Creuset ware pieces.

Olive oil or chilli oil if you love a bit of bite or if you’re feeling a bit cheeky!

100g Chorizo slices/ salami

5 teaspoons of crushed garlic

1 teaspoon paprika

1 wine glass of dry white wine

Salt & Pepper

Juice of 1 lemon

bunch of fresh parsley, roughly chopped

1 red pepper roughly chopped

1 yellow pepper roughly chopped

1 orange pepper / green pepper roughly chopped

150g green beans

1 can of tinned tomatoes

1 onion chopped

200g grilled peppers(tinned fine) or grill your own ones in the oven

300g Paella rice

700ml chicken stock

250g chicken thigh fillets cut into medium size pieces

250g clams/oysters (tinned is fine)

150g squid or calamari rings

220 g shrimp

300g prawns

250g  mussels scrubbed and washed

Drizzle your pan with the oil. Heat the pan and start snipping in the chorizo/salami with scissors into your pan. Let it sizzle for about 5 minutes. Now add your garlic, chopped red, yellow and orange/green pepper, together with your chopped onion to the chorizo. Add half of the chopped parsley. Now sprinkle with the paprika. Season with salt and pepper and fry the ingredients together for another 5 minutes. Now add the chicken.

Brown the chicken for about 5 minutes and add the grilled peppers. Add your paella and stir through gently so the rice is combined with all the flavours in the pan. Pour in the white wine. Simmer for about 5 minutes. Add the tinned tomatoes and mix through. Pour in the chicken stock. Stir gently for about 15 minutes. Make sure that nothing is sticking to the bottom.

After 15 minutes, add the mussels,prawns, clams/oysters, prawns and squid/calamari along with the green beans. Stir around for about 10 minutes. Now add your lemon juice and mix around gently. If your paella looks slightly dry, you can add a little extra stock to make it more silky. Taste and season if needed. Now add the rest of the chopped parsley, black pepper and enjoy!!

2 Responses to “Killer Paella for the seafood addict ;-p”

  1. conradsword January 30, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    I usually only eat tuna salad, fried shrimp and fried calamari, but this dish changed my mind

    Like

  2. Wilma Bezuidenhout January 31, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    Very colourful and yummi!

    Like

Leave a Reply

