crunchy broccoli and creamy chicken linguine

31 Jan

I confess…I was lazy, very lazy. It was one of those weekends when you have to do all the things that you don’t really want to do.. lets focus on the word “HAVE”. Clean the house, do the washing.. try and sleep late ;-p So after our paella experience, I felt like something meaty…. my husband’s home made hamburgers!! They are simply delicious! We had hamburgers with brie cheese and basil. I am sorry….. I didn’t take pictures because of two reasons: 1 – I was busy doing nothing, well, actually lying on the couch and reading and 2- I was too busy eating and enjoying the burger that I didn’t want to put it down to photograph it!! My sincere apologies!! Sunday cooking also nearly didn’t happen. We went for breakfast with my sister in law and her boyfriend. After a breakfast like that, you don’t even think about lunch. So after a few hours the tummy started to rumble again. This is what reminds me of my brother – however, I do it in a slightly “non-2 minute noodle” way.

So, back home, every sunday night, round about 7 in the evening, he would make a big bowl of 2 minute noodles, with a LOT of cheese and about a whole bottle of french salad dressing. It sounds horrible, but believe me, it is VERY tasty. So this dish I dedicate to my brother,I think this might be slightly healthier than his 2 minute noodle dish ;-p  Also, this is the perfect sunday night “pig out”, because technically it is still weekend, so you’re still allowed to be a bit naughty with your food! ;-p

1 head of broccoli

1 onion chopped

5 white button mushrooms chopped

3 pieces of chicken thigh fillets

4 slices of bacon

Chilli Oil

juice of 1 lemon

2 teaspoons crushed garlic

Salt & black pepper

1  1/2 teaspoons mixed herbs

250ml Cream / soya cream

Parmesan cheese for grating



Drizzle your hot pan wit oil, add the garlic and start frying the onion until glassy. Add the mushrooms and bacon. When the bacon is almost done, add the mixed herbs. Meanwhile, start boiling the water for the pasta. Remember to season the pasta water with salt. Add the linguine to the water and toss in the broccoli for 5 minutes in the boiling water. Remove the broccoli. Now add the chicken to the mushroom, onion and bacon mixture. season with salt. When chicken is almost cooked through, pour over the lemon juice. Mix through and add the cream/ soya cream.Tip the chicken, bacon etc into the saucepan with the cooked and drained pasta and toss it gently. Transfer to a serving dish.Toss the brocolli over the pasta. Grate fresh parmesan over your pasta and enjoy!!! Njam njam!! This is comfort food, and you don’t feel too bad, because you’re eating broccoli! ;-p

One Response to “crunchy broccoli and creamy chicken linguine”

  1. conradsword February 1, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    woohooooooo!!!! wonder how long it would have been till you mention the coolest dude ON tHe PlAnET!!!!!! that’s me, visit my blog to see my 2 minute noodle super surprise woooooooohooooooo!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

