The lazy cook ….

7 Feb

Ok, as you all know, there were no posts last week. Let me explain.. I know it is almost unforgivable, but just give me a chance. Monday night I had to go and look at a few flats… we have to find a new home, with no screaming coming from kids, a garden space for my much awaited herb garden and space for my hubby’s computer factory! Yes, we have 5 computers in our house and I get a shiver down my spine each time he mentions his sister bringing a laptop for him from New York. Yes, it is the horrible truth! ;-p

So tuesday, I was a little bit unwell, so no cooking for me. If I am not cooking, you have to know that I am not feeling well. So , my hubby had soup that he bought from Sainsbury’s. Yes, the microwave meal. EEEEEEEEEK!! I feel like I have committed a terrible sin!! However, I made up for it on wednesday when a friend of mine from SA came for dinner. Unfortunately, due to him arriving at our doorstep exactly the same time that I got off the train, there were no pictures taken 😦  It was hard enough already trying to cook and talk and listen!! Multi-tasking is a possibility, but not always ;-p So I will grace you with this lazy recipe… but it does look quite impressive!! So enjoy  🙂

Crumbed chicken thighs with aubergine & mushrooms

1 pack of chicken thighs (deboned)

1 teaspoon of crushed garlic

Salt & Pepper

Juice of half a lemon

Olive oil

Fine bread crumbs ( the ones you buy in a little holder/sachet)

Dried thyme

1 aubergine, chopped in half circles

5 mushrooms chopped in quarters

cherry tomatoes on the vine

1 cup of bulgarian Yoghurt

Ok, get yourself a ovenproof dish, one that doubles up as a pretty serving dish. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius. Drizzle your ovenproof dish with olive oil and grind black pepper and salt in your dish and add the garlic. Toss in your aubergine and mushrooms. Toss them around so that they are slightly coated in the olive oil. Drizzle over a few pinches of  thyme. Pour your breadcrumbs into a shallow dish. Mix in a bit of thyme, just for that slight flavour.

Now take your chicken and dip it into the yoghurt so that it is evenly coated. Now transfer to your dish with the breadcrumbs and thyme and coat on both sides with the breadcrumbs. As soon as each one is coated all over, transfer them to the oven dish and place on top of the mushrooms and aubergine. Top off with the cherry tomatoes.  Now grind black pepper and salt over the chicken and drizzle with olive oil and your lemon juice. Place in the oven for 45 minutes. Keep an eye on it every now and then to check it doesn’t burn – my oven might be different than yours. While the chicken is cooking, make a bowl of rice to go with your chicken dish. This is where the other lazy part comes in, I used microwave Tilda Rice. Yes, punish me!! I can’t lie, I have to admit it. I just didn’t feel like making a huge bowl of rice. I cant eat rice, so the hubby will have to finish it all!! That’s my excuse for making a small packet of rice      ;-p     Enjoy!!

One Response to “The lazy cook ….”

  1. conradsword February 8, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    Great healthy looking tomatoes you got there, look forward to seeing your herb garden, hope it will grow to be as big as Jaime Oliver’s, oh and you can never have too many computers haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

