Butternut & Aubergine lasagne

10 Feb

A rainy and well known, dull day in London today as described by the  Britons. Cold. One of those days when you just want to eat pasta! So, while working, I started to get the idea in my head that I wanted to go and get myself a big pasta lunch! No!!!! Have to save money for the holiday..save…. money!! So instead, while chewing on a dry crackerbread with marmite (exiting, isn’t it), I let my mind wander for something nice,tasty and warm that I could make.

I didn’t feel like making a plain pasta, I wanted something different. I wanted butternut, but just thinking about the peeling and chopping ( and losing some fingers) I felt even more tired already! However, just  thinking about the pure bliss I will experience while eating this lovely, hearty dish, I pushed myself forward to the peeling and chopping I will be doing when I arrive home. So, after getting stuck in the train again (emergency alarm is what they call it now) I really needed a happy meal! Luckily not in the unhealthy sense of Mcdonalds, but not entirely healthy either. So, here we go.

Butternut & Aubergine Lasagne

1 Aubergine, cut in thin circle discs  (salted to sweat and washed)

3/4 of a butternut, peeled and cut into chunks

Olive oil

3 teaspoons crushed garlic

2 onions, roughly chopped

1 handful of mushrooms, roughly chopped

1 or 1/2 pack of bacon, cut into medium pieces with scissors

1/2 cup white wine

250ml cream / soya cream

125ml milk

cumin

paprika

salt & pepper

2 sprigs of fresh rosemary, tear the leaves off the sprig

2 teaspoons of mixed herbs

grated cheese

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius. Boil some water in a saucepan and tip in your butternut. Cook it until soft, but still firm. While this is cooking, heat a frying pan and drizzle with some olive oil and garlic. Fry the onions until glassy an add the mushrooms and bacon. Season with salt.  Check on the butternut, it should be semi cooked, but still firm. Drain.  Add the mixed herbs to the onion and mushroom mixture and mix through. When the bacon is cooked through, pour in your white wine. Let it simmer for about 5 minutes and remove from the heat.

Now grease an oven proof dish. Put in one layer of lasagne sheets. Place your butternut on the sheets and spread them out. You can squash them slighty. Sprinkle with cumin and loose leaves of rosemary. Grind over black pepper. Add another layer of lasagne sheets. Now layer the bacon and mushroom mixture over the lasagne sheets. Layer with lasagne sheets again. Mix the cream and milk together.Now pour over the lasagne sheets. Cover with your aubergine discs as the last layer. Sprinkle with paprika. Now cover it with your grated cheese. Cook in the oven for 45 – 50 minutes. Allow to stand for about 10 minutes after removing from the oven.

Now, if you have fresh salad greens in your fridge, it goes beautifully with your lasagne. However, I came home late, only had green peppers in the fridge and was too lazy and tired to make salad! Yes I know, but sometimes I have to rest too! Did I mention while the lasagne was in the oven I folded and packed away all the washing and unpacked the dishes from dishwashing machine? Yup! So that’s why there is no salad ;-p  Enjoy! xxxx

One Response to “Butternut & Aubergine lasagne”

  1. conradsword February 11, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    hmmm butternut, my faviorite!

    Like

Leave a Reply

