Light spring pasta with a spring in my step :-)

15 Mar

Move over Bree, Nadia’s arrived! You heard it!! Not only do I work full day, I now come home, cook and…. wait for it…. do exercise from my excersise home dvd!!

Yes, I have turned into a modern-day Jane Fonda – without the small waist!! hahahaha! Coming soon – small waisted Nadia!! So, I wanted to make something tasty, light, beautiful and filling for the hubby’s tummy. Say no more – that means anything with pasta! He’s not called the “carb man” for nothing ;-p He loves pasta!! Not as much as pizza, but the two are very close.

So I rushed to make this dish, of course because I still had to do my excercise and spend time with the hubby. How do we do it??? It is a little insane. However, after sitting at my desk today, and literally feeling my muffintop… yes, muffintop !!!! – I decided excercise will also be on the menu tonight!! However, I am very proud of my dish I made tonight, because it contains no cream!!! It’s still very tasty!!! Another reason for the spring in my step – the hubby came home with a bunch of red roses and a kenwood chopper!! How lucky am I???

More lucky than the “acorn obsessed” squirrel in Ice Age when he is surrounded with all the acorns he can imagine!! Yup, I even have the crazy eyes!! My hubby is the beeeeeessssstt!!! So of course I have to give him great food, sprinkled with love šŸ™‚ So here we go:

1 pack of chicken thighs diced

4 slices of bacon cut into little slices

1 leek, chopped

2 teaspoons of garlic

100ml white wine

3 tablespoons olive oil

5 sprigs of fresh thyme

4 teaspoons of lemon juice

Salt & black pepper

1 cup of frozen peas

2 cups of penne pasta

grated parmesan

Salad to serve

Get hold of your mortar & pestle. Add the olive oil, 1 teaspoon of garlic, the lemon juice, thyme leaves and sprinkle in a pinch of salt and black pepper. Mix with your pestle. Now allow the chicken to marinate in this. It gives a beautiful flavour. While it is marinating, drizzle a little bit of olive oil in a heated pan and add the remaining garlic. Start frying your leeks. After about 7 minutes, add your bacon. Now add your chicken and the marinade. Fry for 10 minutes and add the white wine. Simmer for 1o minutes. While this is simmering, boil water for your pasta. Follow the instructions on your past packet. Now add the peas and mix through gently. Simmer for 5 minutes. Drain your pasta and mix it through with your chicken and peas. Turn off the heat, cover with a lid and allow to stand for about 7 minutes.

While all the flavours are mixing together in your pan, make a simple salad to serve with your pasta dish. When your salad is done, remove the lid from your pan, transfer to a serving dish and sprinkle over your grated parmesan. Enjoy!! šŸ™‚

One Response to “Light spring pasta with a spring in my step :-)”

  1. conradsword March 25, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    now that’s a good pasta!

    Like

Leave a Reply

