Moving = chaos

4 Apr

Hello to all the normal people with the neat and clean houses. My name is Nadia and I am here to tell you that I hate moving! Yes, this is the reason why I have not been able to spend time on my beautiful, beloved blog!! It has been packing, moving, carrying, cleaning, unpacking! Let me tell you, this is no joke! Finally, after cleaning and trying to find a spot for everything, I thought I was going to start cooking. Not really! I have been building desks, walking down the street like a complete homeless person with so many boxes you can barely see my new “messy look” hairstyle peeking out from under there!

Now you can imagine this picture, walking down a very busy main road with boxes, boxes and more boxes – most people will start hearing that stupid song ” oh what a night” – I on the otherhand will start thinking what a terrible sight! There goes my new “stylish” hairstyle, now looking more like a homeless person’s hair not to have seen a hairbrush in ages!! Ok, moving on!!

The good news – I’m back!! Better news, 2 words – GAS STOVE!! This immediately equals happy eating, happy soul and weight gain ;-p It comes down to the fact that I really am in my element! Add my garden with freshly planted herbs, a beautiful, loving husband and a new spacious kitchen with wooden flooring = Bliss!! So lets get down to business!!

The hubby has a bit of a back problem at the moment. I think “a bit” might be an understatement! Poor thing, when your wife has to put on your socks for you, you really are in pain 😦 If I could I would carry him on my back ;-p Poor baby!! So I really wanted to cook him something nice to spoil him and make him feel better.

I know he would have preferred something like a slow roasted leg of lamb with roasted potatoes and a killer chocolate brownie for dessert, but alas, there were chicken breasts in the fridge, and to be honest, not anything else that will get the sparks going!! So I went with a crumbed chicken breast, filled with tomato pesto and roasted onions.

Yup, how booooooring!!  To be honest, in the end I think my poor baby’s back is so sore he didn’t care what he was eating, as long as it tasted nice, and I think it did!!  🙂 So here goes, lets hope my chicken dish improved a little bit of that backpain 🙂

1 big onion or 4 small shallots, cut into quarters, skin on

1 teaspoon of garlic

olive oil

1 egg beaten

2 Chicken breast fillets

3 tablespoons of tomato pesto

1 handful of fresh thyme

Bread crumbs

Get yourself an ovenproof dish and drizzle with olive oil and add the garlic. Now, cut your onions into quarters. Leave the skin on. Now rub the onion quarters ( skin up) around in your oven proof dish and spread the garlic around with it. Cut your chicken breast slightly in half while still leaving the opposite ends closed. Take your tomato pesto and put it inside the hollow part that you cut open.

Beat your egg. Take a brush and brush the chicken both sides and dip into your breadcrumbs. both sides. Now place this in your ovenproof dish.  Season with salt and pepper and sprinkle with your thyme.

Bake in the oven for 35 – 40 minutes at 180 degrees. Enjoy with a salad and some rice 🙂

One Response to “Moving = chaos”

  1. conradsword April 5, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    mmmmmmmmm yum, can’t go wrong with pesto and golden brown chicken!

    Like

Leave a Reply

