lazy lemon meatballs

5 Apr

The word “lazy” enters the vocabulary when I whip out my little Kenwood chopper!! This little beauty was another wonderful gift from the hubby!! Yes, I am spoilt rotten!! Add to this little gadget saving me time = quick happy hubby! Which might I add, allows me to finish my blog post quicker, as he feels this comes 1st instead of him ;-p So, in my haste I also accidentally deleted a few photos that I took.

Maybe this is a underlying problem from me wanting to clear all the clutter and extras away, as yet again, my day was filled with walking down the street with boxes again!! Also, I only had mince. Now there comes a time when meatballs with homemade tomato becomes more boring than all the women with their prams here in London ;-p So I had to think of something different and lighter.

A while ago, before I started my blog, I made mini meatballs with cumin, and found that this was a different alternative, however, still served it with tomato sauce and basil. This is a different take on meatballs, tasty, light and warm for the tummy and soul šŸ™‚ No summer here yet!! So here we go:

Meatball mixture

250g mince

half onion, finely chopped in your processor

1 teaspoon of paprika

1 teaspoon of dried coriander

1 teaspoon of turmeric

1 teaspoon of cumin

pinch of salt

4 cream crackers, made fine in your processor so they are fine crumbs

1 egg, beaten

Sauce

half a onion, finely chopped in your chopper

1 teaspoon of garlic

1 tablespoon of butter

3 tablespoons of lemon juice

1 teaspoon of paprika

1 teaspoon of turmeric

250ml of Chicken stock

1 teaspoon of cumin

Ok, so lets start with the meatballs. Place your mince in a bowl, add your spices, cream crackers and egg and lemon juice.Ā Mix thorougly and make mini meatballs. Simples!! Now add your butter and garlicĀ to the pan and the onion and all the spices for the sauce. Fry the onion for 5 minutes. Now add your meatballs. Let them fry and squiggle them around in the pan. Do not allow them to burn, but only brown them. Now add your chicken stock. Cook for about 15 – 20 minutes or untill cooked through.

I have served this with cous cous and finely chopped red pepper, courgetteĀ and harissa paste. I took 1 courgette and 1/2 a red pepper and chopped it in my chopper. Fine, but not too fine so that it turns into a paste. I drizzled the pan with a little bit of olive oil. Then take 1 teaspoon ofĀ  harissa paste and mix through in the pan. Now add your finely chopped courgette and red pepper. Fry for about 5 – 10 minutes. Now add a cup of cous cous. Mix it through so that it absorbs all the flavours. Flavour lightly with salt and vegetable spice. Now add a little bit of water, just enough for the cous cous to absorb it. Mix through so that the cous cous seperates. Now cover with a lid and allow to stand. The cous cous with now be done. Serve up with your meatballs and enjoy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Usate feta rigidamente greca… La ricetta del cous cous con carote e zucchine « In cucina con le ricette di… - June 15, 2011

    […] lazy lemon meatballs (dragonfliesanddaisies.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

