Wrapping up the monday blues

11 Apr

I am guilty again! One proud word will explain everything =BRAAI! So this is why I have not had any recent posts. No cooking, just the smell of braaivleis!! This adds to the blues I had today -having a lovely sunny weekend, and building furniture for our new little home, then having to wake up very early and go to work. I was very happy to start working today, but as I was sitting there, in the legal deparment, and believe me, (there is nothing legal about the boredom there), I thought to myself – Why do we do this? Why do we sit in little cubicles and do work that we don’t like in any possible way and that drives us to insanity? So that we can enjoy the more important things I suppose.

So this is why I have my blog, and this is where I was sitting and thinking about tonight’s supper. Since I am on a VERY boring, strict diet, I had to think of something different again that would make me happy to prepare and see the hubby enjoying it… not easy!! So there was mince, wraps (a multi-seed healthy version) and salad. This is what I came up with:

Mexican wraps without the bite 🙂

2 wraps

250g beef mince

2 tablespoons tomato puree

3 tablespoons Mrs Balls Chutney Original

2 teaspoons of dried coriander

1 teaspoon of olive oil

1 onion, roughly chopped

1/2 can of tinned tomatoes

1 tin of kidney beans

2 teaspoons of crushed garlic

salt and pepper to taste

2 handfuls of grated cheddar cheese

2 tablespoons of salad cream /mayonaise

Add your olive oil, garlic, coriander and onions to a saucepan. Now fry the onions for 5 minutes. Add your tomato puree and some salt. Fry until the onions are glassy. Now add your mince and chutney. Fry until the mince is slightly brown and add your kidney beans. Mix through. Now add your tinned tomatoes. Cook for 10 minutes. Taste and season with salt and pepper.

Now warm your wraps in foil in the oven for 5 – 7 minutes. Remove from the oven. Take your mayonaise and spread it over your wraps.

Now add your mince and bean filling onto the wraps. Sprinkle with your cheese, season with salt and black pepper. Now roll them into wraps.

Wrap them again in the foil and put in the oven for 7- 10 minutes until the cheese has melted. Serve with a crisp, light salad and enjoy!!

2 Responses to “Wrapping up the monday blues”

  1. conradsword April 12, 2011 at 6:02 am #

    mmmmmm yummy MRS BALLS!

    Like

  2. Wilma April 12, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Gaan dit probeer, lyk baie lekker!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

