Green Curry Monday… Keep calm and curry on

1 Aug

….to kick us right into the new week, because we’re going to need it! Especially after enjoying a lovely weekend filled with sunshine and barbeques! Who wants to get into a sardine tin of a train (and may I add filled with aroma of sardines that a fellow passenger must have enjoyed for breakfast) after a relaxed weekend like that? I don’t think I know a single soul that would look forward to that.

So, VERY early this morning, still trying to pry one eye open, never mind the other, I realised that I really needed something that could kick-start me ( including the hubby, who at this moment in time was still happily lying in bed, snoring away), especially as I am working very early for the next few weeks.Te tere taaaaaaa, tararararatttata taaaaaaa!!! “movie preview song”…. Green Thai Curry!!!

No wonder they call it “curry in a hurry” because it is something great to make when you are in a hurry…. Ahem, because I usually arrive home after the hubby when I working early shifts, by the time I come home he is usually starving and would probably have emptied half of the kitchen cupboard already!  Beware – I only make Green Thai Curry and no other curry.  The reason you may ask? We have had our fair share of stench from certain ex-neighbours “those who will not be named for fear of evaporating in it” – Harry Potter style! ;-p

Also, green curry is satisfying, healthy ( my recipe is) and has some happy spunk to it! Just like my semi-disastrous styled hair, maybe too much spunk? I never feel guilty after enjoying this curry. Come to think of it, I can’t remember the last time we enjoyed our little “friend”. So there, it is about time! Maybe that chilli will sort out my bad back… and fiery temper for my fellow train passengers ;-p

I am also committing a sin, I am using curry paste from a jar, not making it from scratch. I just think buying the jar is cost efficient, less time consuming, and hey…. You can always re-use the jar afterwards!  Happiness!!! Hmmm, maybe not for the hubby, his face turns to the colour of a chilli when he sees me washing up the jars, so that I can re-use them…. But I cant help it, I put stuff in them!  He’s just going to love me so much for this lovely little spunky green curry, he won’t even know about the jar ;-p So, my fellow hungry friends, I hope you enjoy it, because believe me, I always end up eating out of the saucepan  – even after I’ve had seconds ;-p

1 pack of chicken fillets / chicken thigh fillets, cut in medium sized cubes/pieces

5 teaspoons of green curry paste

1 teaspoon of crushed garlic

1 onion, roughly chopped

2 teaspoons of oyster or fish sauce

1 chilli, finely chopped (optional)

Juice of 1 lemon + 3 tablespoons of lemon juice for marinating

Fresh Coriander

Sunflower oil for frying

1 tin of reduced fat coconut milk/ coconut milk

1 green pepper, roughly chopped

Salt & Pepper to taste

Take 2 teaspoons of the curry paste and 3 tablespoons of lemon juice and mix through the raw chicken to marinate. Heat your saucepan and drizzle with sunflower oil. Add your onions.

Fry for about 8 minutes and add your garlic, chilli and curry paste. Now add your chicken and season with a bit of salt and pepper.


Drizzle the fish sauce/oyster sauce into the pan with the chicken. Fry for about 5 minutes. Add your green pepper.  Now add your coconut milk. Allow to simmer for 10 minutes.


While this is simmering you can prepare some basmati or jasmine rice. After the chicken has simmered for 10 minutes, add your lemon juice and simmer till the chicken is done.

Taste and season with more salt and pepper if needed. Dish up on some basmati/ jasmine rice and scatter with fresh coriander. Yum!

One Response to “Green Curry Monday… Keep calm and curry on”

  1. conradsword August 2, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    mmmmm yumyum curry will make you hurry to the bathroom

    Like

Leave a Reply

