Salmon – the other pink meat….swimming in mushrooms

2 Aug

Well, you know what they say – A bad day of fishing is still better than a good day at the office! I wish I was out fishing instead of sitting at the office today or any day! I am sure there are a lot of folks that would agree with me on this one. As usual, the hubby asked me during the day what was for supper and “are we having something healthy again tonight?” What does that mean? Most nights we have healthy food. I suppose after last night’s curry, he feels we are on the health binge, a very tasty health binge may I add!

Tonight we are going on “operation fridge clean out binge”. Similar to many of you, I buy fresh vegetables and they seem to go off so easily! I bought a whole punnet of mushrooms for £1.50, 750g, not bad hey? Well, using most of them for tonight’s supper might be ;-p

That’s no problem, because I believe you can do a lot with mushrooms!! I also happen to know someone that will never insult mushrooms, as it is one of his favorite friends. I am sure all of you know by now how much the hubby appreciates the humble mushroom! Oh ye of little faith!

He could probably live off mushrooms if he had to! Not that I can say the same about salmon. He’s had enough of eating “pink” for some time I think. I did however give him an option that sounded quite “fishy” to him 😉  Tuna or Salmon? Don’t think there is a lot of thinking required to make that decision. Sorry guys, but we are moving into the whole “eat fish twice a week to be healthy” zone! ;-p Who reads these things anyway? I suppose I just did. Not that I believe it. This salmon we are eating was so cheap I won’t be surprised if it was farmed in the same tank as a goldfish! Enough of my gobble – lets get down to my recipe so that you can look forward to gobbling it up!

2 salmon fillets

2 handfuls of mushrooms roughly chopped

2 teaspoons of crushed garlic

Olive oil for frying

1/2  glass of dry white wine

1 teaspoon of chives fresh/dry

½ leek, roughly chopped

2 teaspoons of lemon juice

1 teaspoon of olive oil for the salmon

½ cup of cream / soya cream

Salt & pepper for seasoning

4 cups of baby spinach

2 pinches of nutmeg

2 teaspoons of lemon for your sauce

Preheat your oven to 220 degrees Celsius. Place your salmon on a baking tray and flavor with salt, pepper and drizzle the lemon juice and olive oil over the salmon. Now place in the oven for 15- 20 minutes or until the salmon is cooked on the outside and slightly pink on the inside.

While the salmon is in the oven, heat a frying pan and drizzle with some olive oil. Add the garlic and leeks. Fry for about 8 minutes. Now add your mushrooms and fry them until they become brown. Flavour with salt and pepper. Now, add your remaining two teaspoons of lemon juice.Ensure your pan is nice and hot and then add your white wine.

Mix through. Now add your chives and cream and mix through. Allow to simmer for 8 minutes. While this is simmering, place your spinach in a pan and season with salt and pepper and your nutmeg. Steam your spinach until it has wilted.

Remove your salmon from the oven. Place your mushrooms in the bottom of the plate with plenty of sauce.

Place your spinach on top of that and top it off with your salmon. Sprinkle some chives over your salmon and enjoy with baby potatoes, rice or some mashed potatoes. A healthy treat!

One Response to “Salmon – the other pink meat….swimming in mushrooms”

  1. Wilma August 3, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Mmmmmm yum looks wonderful!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

