Monday Pig out pie

8 Aug

Hello my foodie friends! I think after this weekend, we almost knew what “gluttony” meant. I won’t be suprised if we develop little piggy tails! We enjoyed a pork barbeque with a lovely bread and olive and goats cheese. The next day we had larger than life pizza’s and on Sunday I prepared a lovely sticky and sweet pork shoulder with rice, corn and a radish salad. How does it not come close to being as greedy as 2 little piggies?

I suppose we love food so much, we can never be guilty of gluttony ;-p We enjoy it too much and definitely appreciate it. Naturally,even after all of this indulging, there was some leftover pork. Yes I know, even I do not feel like taking photos of everything and took a back seat on the blog over the weekend.  This is good, it means I will make it again, just to share that lovely pork shoulder.

So, back to the leftovers – I wanted to make a simple and light stirfry, but alas, so enters the lion man! He wanted a pork pie! He can’t say no to a pie! Also in this message, he “matter of fact” mentioned he would like to have mushrooms with it and a tasty little sauce.“Recipe brain” going in overdrive! Needless to say he had to pick up puff pastry from the grocer on his way home… well he was the one that wanted pie! ;-p

I suppose it is a comfort food for many. I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like pie. I think the love for it lies in the lovely and rich butter pastry. So while I am sitting at work I am working on a little non-fat pastry recipe in my head. Well hey, who wants that?? The whole point of  pastry is to be rich, creamy and warm, creating an unknowing smile on each face enjoying this indulgence! That is always the joy and greatest reward of cooking to me. I also have to create a “cement of fame block” for the hubby as he was the genius that came up with tonight’s title. He won’t admit it, but he is always curious about my writing ;-p

I am sure he will be showing this to his work colleagues tomorrow ;-p  And before I start, remember, the main ingredient in food is love. Especially in this dish, there was plenty. My hubby put his hand to rolling out the pastry for the pie – he managed really well 🙂 Soon, I will have my own assistant ;-p

Monday Pig out pie

sunflower oil for cooking

1 pack of puff pastry

1 egg, beaten

Handful of mushrooms, rougly chopped

1 onion, roughly chopped & 1/2 red onion roughly chopped

Reserve of your “gelatin” from your leftover pork / 2 tablespoons of honey, 2 teaspoons of lemon juice and 1 teaspoon of soya sauce

2 tablespoons of apple pickle / apple chutney

1 courgette, roughly chopped

1 green/ yellow pepper, roughly chopped

2 cups of leftover pork, cut in bitesize pieces

Salt & pepper to taste

Preaheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius.  Heat a frying pan and drizzle with oil. Add your “gelatin” / sauce mixture. Now add your onions and fry for about 8 minutes. Add your courgette. Fry for another 8 minutes and now add the mushrooms, yellow pepper and pork. Finally, add your pickle. Mix through and allow to simmer. Season with salt to taste.

Grease a pie dish / tin. Roll out your pastry and place one half in the pie dish. Scoop in your pork mixture. Top off with the remaining pastry.

If you have any pastry left, cut out little hearts with a cookie cutter and place them on top of your pie – this extra loving creates a better taste, I promise! ;-p

Finally, brush your pie with the beaten egg, so that it can turn lovely and deliciously golden in the oven 🙂 Bake it for 30 – 45 min until golden brown. 🙂  And if you’re anything like the hubby, serve a salad with it 🙂

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Monday Pig out pie”

  1. conradsword August 8, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    this little piggie went to nadee’s kitchen

    Like

Leave a Reply

