Insalata caprese –and become the bee’s knees!

9 Aug

Today, I see myself as the bee’s knees ;-p Freshly cooked dinner every night, working woman, wife extraordinaire… you bet ya! The reason for the self praise?? It’s women’s day in SA, and I might not be in South Africa, but I am still a South African! So happy Women’s day to me! :-p Come to think of it, from the riots that have been going on over here, if almost feels just like home! Ahhhh, nothing like violence, rage and angry, bored, uneducated people breaking everything down to give you a nice, warm and cuddly feeling inside!

Moving on…. this wont really be a caprese salad as such, but more like a bit of inspiration. I will be making a caprese style, baked wrap. The whole pastry thing won’t work as after last night, the man overindulged in his Monday pig out pie and feels he is up to something lighter today. So I will be using wholegrain wraps as a base for a style of a healthy pizza. I promise you, this will be a quick one and you will be enjoying a lovely meal in no time 🙂

After having little tomato trees with bunches and bunches of tomatoes on them, staying green, I thought this will be the last time that I grow tomatoes in England. However, I think they heard me, because all of a sudden they decided to pull on the red jackets! Now, I have so many tomatoes, I don’t know what to do! Originally, I wanted to make a lovely caramelized tomato, onion and feta tart. The beauty of the French…. well, back to earth – the hubby won’t enjoy that.

He’s had enough of pies….. and tarts for that matter, I mean they’re all over London – especially on the northern line ;-p So there goes my little brain spark for today… moving on. I will be using ALL my tomatoes, some leftover bacon in the fridge, fresh basil from my garden, some lovely and plump olives and of course, mozzarella. All of this will result in almost NO washing up, lots of vitamin C from the tomatoes, fluffy white clouds of mozzarella and rich indulgence of the bacon.. .. naturally, all of these lovely little friends = Pure and utter happiness!!  So by now, I am hungry and I really want to tuck in, so here we go with the recipe.

About 6-8 tomatoes, finely sliced in their little round form

250g of mozzarella

2 handfuls of fresh basil

2 handfuls olives black olives

Half a pack of bacon, diced

Salt and pepper to taste

4 large or medium wraps

1 Teaspoon of sunflower oil

Olive oil for drizzling

Preheat $your oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

Drizzle your oil in a heated frying pan. Start frying your bacon until done. Now, take your wrap and place one layer of
sliced tomatoes all over. Season with some salt and pepper.

Now add the rest of your ingredients.

Top off with some black pepper and place in the oven for about 15 – 20
minutes or until the wrap is nice, golden and crispy.

In the name of “Money Supermarket” – Simples!  Enjoy!

One Response to “Insalata caprese –and become the bee’s knees!”

  1. frugalfeeding August 11, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Those look amazing. Some of my favourite ingredients all mixed together like that. Sounds deeelish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

