Cottage pie… you’ve got to give it a try

13 Aug

I promise! It’s got a little twist ;-p When I was a little girl, I never liked cottage pie. I liked mashed potato and I liked mince, but not together. There was something about it that I felt was bland and boring and a “quick fix” when you really didn’t have much time to make supper. Not that it is, this was just how I perceived it and naturally, having a mother that is a brilliant cook, I pulled my nose at it!

I am now here to tell you that I have recovered. Hi, my name is Nadia and I have a new cottage pie recipe…. all together now…. “Hi New Cottage Pie!!!! “ This is what I like to call “Italian Cottage Pie”.  I think it has a certain  “je ne sais quoi” to it.  Cottage pie, with a bit more zing and loaded with  love!! And anti-oxidants!

I made this a few weeks ago, thinking my hubby will pull the same face I used to pull when I heard “cottage pie”. However, he actually polished my little red pie dish! I think it is because it has the crunch factor, the zingy flavour and the fluffy potato, topped with the ever so lovely and popular parmesan. Who can live without parmesan!!!!! I’m sure it sounds bad, calling it my Italian cottage pie, but basically, the base of the sauce is Italian, parmesan is Italian, and well, why not. This is not the quickest dish, but it is well worth it 🙂 If you don’t try it, you’ll never know!

Italian Cottage Pie

 

250 g mince

5 tablespoons of tomato puree

Dolmio tomato sauce ( Yes I had to, there was one bottle left in the fridge) / 1 tin of tinned tomatoes

1 1/2 teaspoon of mixed herbs

1 large onion, roughly chopped / 2 medium onions

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 teaspoon of chopped garlic

4 potatoes, peeled and cut in cubes

Salt & Pepper to taste

1 chilli finely chopped

1 egg, beaten

1 cup of freshly grated parmesan

1/2 cup of cream/ soya cream

Get some water boiling and add your potatoes. Flavour the water with salt. Heat a frying pan and add your olive oil, chilli and onion.

Fry the onion for about 8 minutes and add your tomato puree. Mix and fry for another 5 minutes. Season with salt.

Now add your mince and break it up with a wooden spoon. When it has slightly browned, add your Dolmio sauce/ tinnes tomatoes. Mix through.

Now add your mixed herbs. Mix through and allow to simmer for 20 minutes. It sounds long, but it really allows the meat to absorb the flavours in the sauce.

While this is simmering, check on your potatoes. When the potatoes are soft, drain them. Put them back in the saucepan and start mashing!!

When it is beautifully fluffy, add your cream and mix through thoroughly. Taste and season with salt if needed. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius.

Grease a pie dish or any dish of your choice. When your mince is ready, spoon it into the pie dish. Take your mash and spread it over your the mince. Make sure it covers all the mince. Now pour over your egg. Sprinkle with parmesan and place in the oven for 25 minutes.

When you remove it, the egg and parmesan will have formed a lovely crust with a golden colour. Enjoy with a side salad or veggies 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Cottage pie… you’ve got to give it a try”

  1. frugalfeeding August 13, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    I love cottage pie, a pie only bested by shepherds pie… it is fantastic. This one looks divine too. Nice one.

    Like

  2. conradsword August 18, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    mmm parmesan my fav!

    Like

Leave a Reply

