Anger… with a chance of meatballs …

5 Oct

Almost like the movie, but in this case, I wish I could throw some people in the face with unlimited meatballs covered in tomato sauce! However, it would be a totalwaste, especially if you take into account how tasty they are!

After a very frustrating day, I started feeling sorry for myself because I have been eating salads and soups, excercising like a maniac and dealing with total, egotistical morons at work.

Usually, I would treat myself to a very tasty warm meal, especially since our London sun has done a disappearing act on us again. Emotional eating much?! I have a countdown for my visit to SA at the end of the year, but now it seems I have a countdown on the scale as well. Pity the weight doesn’t go as fast as the days ;-p  So, after much contemplation, I decided that since we currently have our freezer  overflowing with mince, I have to make meatballs. Not just any meatballs, I have to think of a new recipe. They are from lean protein after all, so how can I go wrong .

However; I want a creamy tomato sauce with it, not the strong, acidic sauce. I have the normal soya cream that I always use, and hey, soya is extra protein is it not?
You know, as long as your mind thinks one thing, your stomach and body will the think the same ;-p Well, that is what I keep telling myself! So I will create a
lovely little meatball surprise for me and the hubby tonight 🙂

Creamy, dreamy meatballs

1 pack of 250g extra lean beef mince

1 egg, beaten

1 handful of breadcrumbs,/ cream cracker crumbs

2 tablespoons of sesame seeds

1 tablespoon of ground cumin

1 tin of tomato puree

250ml of cream/ soya cream

4 cups of baby spinach

1 teaspoon of olive oil

1 teaspoon of crushed garlic

Salt & Pepper to taste

 

Flavour your mince with salt and pepper. Now, sprinkle in your sesame seeds and cumin. Mix it through.

Add your egg and mix well. Now add your breadcrumbs, mix well
and start rolling some meatballs, about the size of a golf ball, or actually whatever size you like! 🙂

Add your olive oil to a hot pan. Start cooking your meatballs. As they are halfway, add your garlic and your tomato puree and shake your meatballs about in the pan
so that it can roll around in the puree. Cook for another 5 minutes. Add your spinach and cover the lid for 5 minutes. Now, add your cream and allow to simmer until cooked, which should be another 10 minutes.

I plan on serving this with a quinoa and barley type of rice mixture. Very healthy. Probably tastes like nothing, but hey, with a lovely, creamy tomato sauce like the one with the meatballs, you won’t even notice. So to everyone that felt like throwing hot meatballs at someone today, while you are enjoying your dinner, just imagine throwing them with it, and your food will be even yummier!

One Response to “Anger… with a chance of meatballs …”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super spicy falafel, meatballs and copious amounts of salad « dreamalittle…dreamalot - January 27, 2012

    […] Anger… with a chance of meatballs … (dragonfliesanddaisies.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

