In a thyme tuna pickle

26 Oct

As almost every other day, when I left the house in the (pitch black) dark this morning, I forgot to take out some meat from the freezer. Yet again, this home is plagued by the flu… As I was sitting at work, very much looking like I swallowed 2 golfballs, I realised that the kitchen is “meatless”.

Heavily doped by boredom, I allowed my thoughts to move to our fridge and cupboard… tada!! No surprises there, tuna, bacon, garden tomatoes and capers. Capers are little buggers that go surprisingly well with quite a number of dishes. Particularly tuna and salmon.

I’ve never really known what plant capers come from or how they actually end up in the little jar that I buy them in.. so I went to investigate, after all, I am soooo very busy at work. Logically its like a type of pod from a plant and not too pleasant to eat as is.

Very much like olives. Put some love in it, give it some time and its tasty and very happy!! Pickled… .. ironic as I was not in the best of moods and I might well have been compared to a caper that has been lying in vinegar.. with very sour look on my face…. but when you combine it with its favourite friends, you wont get better!! So enough of all the blah blah blah… lets get cooking!

Tuna & Caper Spaghetti

2 teaspoons of garlic

1/4 cup of dry white wine

juice of 1/2 lemon

handful of cherry tomatoes, halved

1 tablespoon of capers / 3 teaspoons if the spoon doesn’t fit through the jar

1/2 pack of bacon, cut into medium bitesized slices with scissors

2 tins of chunky tuna with water

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 tablespoon of freshly grated parmesan

Bunch of fresh thyme

Spaghetti ( your choice of serving, follow instructions on packet)

Heat a pan with olive oil. Toss in your bacon and cook for about 7 minutes. Add the tuna. Toss in the pan to allow it to be coated with the bacon juices. Add the tomatoes and garlic and toss about. Now add your white wine and lemon juice. Add parmesan cheese and mix through.

Add your thyme and cover with lid and allow to simmer for 15 minutes. Lastly, add your capers and toss about. Reserve some of the pasta water, literally 2 tablespoons.

Add your tuna ingredients all to your pasta saucepan ( with the pasta in) and toss lightly. Cover with the lid and allow to stand for about 5 – 7 minutes. Dish up and grate over some freshly grated parmesan…. subtle flavours, but one of my favourites… njum!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

