Leftover Thursday

17 Nov

Which, to be honest, there isn’t really much left. I think I am talking about myself. After numerous weeks of being stuck on Ego Planet, I am very happy to have my last day tomorrow in Ego-man land. So from a patience point of view, there is nothing left.

However, after rushing home again last night, as always, I just thought about my friend decided to pop a good ‘ol whole chicken in the oven. Whenever in doubt, this is the route I take, and, I have to say, my friend Amanda, very happily noted to me how easy it is to actually just cook a chicken. You can’t really go wrong with a roast chicken. In her words ” roast chicken breast with a simple tomato salad, yum”, and well, that is what I did. I was very happy that she reminded me. Sorry to say, but coming home so late, there was no time really to do my normal blog routine.

BUT, I was very lucky to have some leftover chicken that smiled at me when I came home and so Leftover Thursday came round ;-p Don’t worry if you don’t have leftover chicken, then just take a pack of chicken fillets and everyone’s happy! This is almost a cupboard meal, but, add some tomatoes and you have a little bit of freshness popping through! So, without further ado, leftover chicken and pesto pasta

handful of cherry tomatoes

2 tablespoons of olive oil

teaspoon of crushed garlic

salt & pepper to taste

2 tablespoons of roughly cut artichokes

Leftover roast chicken / 1 pack of chicken fillets, cut in cubes

1/2 glass of dry white wine

2 tablespoons of traditional green pesto

3 cups of pasta of your choice cooked according to packet instructions

1 1/2 tablespoon of capers

Little bit of goats cheese to crumble over as garnish

Heat a frying pan and add your olive oil and garlic. Mix through, add your cherry tomatoes and put on the lid. Shake the pan about and listen until you hear some of the juices splurting out in the pan. Now add your chicken. Mix about and add your capers. Taste and season with salt and pepper.

Allow to simmer for 5 minutes and turn up the heat a bit. Add your artichokes. Now add your white wine and allow to simmer for 5 minutes.

Turn off the heat and add your pesto.  Dish up your pasta, top with your chicken mixture and crumble over your goats cheese. Quick, tasty and happy!

One Response to “Leftover Thursday”

  1. frugalfeeding November 17, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    Us men do like our egos. 😀 Left over chicken it so yum and your dish looks great. Proper comfort food.

    Like

Leave a Reply

