Nadia’s Hunt(ers chicken)

24 Nov

HUNT – referring to “hunting” – Hunting is the practice of pursuing any living thing, usually wildlife, for food, recreation, or trade. In present-day use, the term refers to lawful hunting, as distinguished from poaching, which is the killing, trapping or capture of the hunted species contrary to applicable law. The species which are hunted are referred to as game, and are usually mammals and migratory or non-migratory gamebirds.

What a wonderful description. I feel like hunting the last few days.. oh, but not just any hunt. I am on a hunt to kill my “migratory poaching handyman”. It might not be legal and therefore, I might have to re-think my title of hunt to poach. That is what I feel like doing 🙂 For the past week we have not had hot water. No hot water also means no indoor heating, which, if you do a little bit of math equals to a number of heated phonecalls and thinking about how I will put this idiot’s head under our tap and make him get brainfreeze… oh… for about… FOREVER, which might then add up to a slight smile on my face ( which now actually requires botox after all this fighthing about getting hot water).

As my man is all tough and muscle, throwing a Rocky attitude after visiting the gym regularly, this whiff of cold water didn’t seem to bother him all that much, until he realised how much it bothered me ;-p A man is a very tough creature, but at one point, they too need heat, and let me tell you darling, bodyheat isn’t enough and really not very romantic as this stage when anger levels are way over the limit.

My number one enemy is being cold, which makes me angry, which makes me agressive and therefore makes me very, very dangerous 🙂 Then why not make dinner that is called “Chicken Hunters Stew”. I just wish I could legally hunt today, because I actually only need one shot  🙂 This makes me think of “one sheet gives you plenty” ad on tv, because one shot will definitely give me plenty to smile about 🙂

Attempting the impossible,  I hope that this dish will warm us up and hopefully it will not fuel my temper 🙂 So listen up boys and gals… this dish is an easy one pot wonder, and delicious for the minimal effort that is put in it 🙂 I hope all of you out there enjoy your hot water, or even your target practice 😉

Hunters Chicken

1 pack of chicken drumstick legs

1 whole garlic, slightly crushed

500ml dry red wine

salt & pepper to taste

2 sprigs of rosemary

4- 5 bay leaves

3 tablespoons of plain flour

1 red onion, rougly chopped

2 handfulls of mushrooms

2 handfuls of black/green olives or one of each, pitted

1 tablespoon of olive oil

2 tins of chopped tomatoes

Rice to serve

Season your chicken with salt and pepper. Place in a casserole dish. Toss in your garlic, bay leaves, rosemary and red wine. Put the lid on and allow to marinate for 30 min.

If you have time, you can marinate it overnight in the fridge. After marinating, pour out the red wine into a measuring jug. Preheat your oven to 180 C.

Chop up the garlic. Add the olive oil to your casserole dish. Pat your chicken dry and dust it with the flour and fry it in the olive oil.Remove  and put aside. Add your onions and mushrooms. Fry for about 8 minutes.

Return your chicken to the casserole, add the olives, chopped tomatoes, garlic and reserved red wine marinade.

Place in the oven for 1 – 1/2 hours.

Remove from the oven and enjoy with jasmine rice.

 

Lovely!!!!

Leave a Reply

