Green with envy… and chicken

24 Jan

Why you might ask? Maybe because I look worse than a fully stuffed cumberland sausage! I went on holiday and believe me, I did it properly! So properly that I can barely fit into my clothes! Sun, friends, wine, barbecues, champagne, late night snacking… wine… crisps… you name it! So I am envious of all the perfect people out there that seem like they can eat anything and either look fabulous or even drop a dress size! Fair to say, I might have overdone it a little bit…. but hey, I’m back in London, needless to say, VERY inspired for things to come.. and its going to be good!

This Van Der Merwe is ready for anything that comes my way! I will show the world what’s coming and I will give it my all!! Speaking of that… while so inspired and focused, my trusty 17-85mm lens has decided that its taking its own little holiday as it doesn’t want to work anymore.. so these are the last photo’s for a while on my blog as this little monster has to go in for repairs….. however, as my post states, everything is green…. I am not allowed to have chicken anymore… I know.. Kill me now!!!

So as a good bye gesture, I made this dish for the hubby… and boy did he love it!! Especially after not seeing me for 2 weeks… he was very happy to have a home cooked meal..!!! So here we go, all things green, fresh and happy!!

1 pack of skinless chicken fillets, diced

1 teaspoon of chopped garlic

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 courgette, roughly chopped

3 tablespoons of green pesto

4 teaspoons of capers

2 red onions, roughly chopped

1 handful of mangetout

2 handfulls / blocks of chinese noodles

1 teaspoon of lemon juice

2 handfuls of roughly chopped iceberg lettuce

3 tablespoons of cream/ soya cream

Heat your frying pan with the olive oil and garlic. Add your onion, courgettes and mangetout. Fry for about 5 minutes until soft.

Now add your chicken and lettuce. Season with salt and black pepper.  Brown it until it is just cooked and now add your capers and lemon juice. After two minutes, add your pesto, mix through and add your cream.

Boil some water and cook your noodles to the packet’s instructions and dish your chicken mix on top of your noodles… njammieee!!!! Green goddess!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

