Do you feel like slowing down.. then do and make it tasty

22 Feb

with a very helpful slowcooker! Compliments of my friend Amanda Celliers! I WOULD say that this great gift is my new best friend, but that would be lying, as she has helped me through many frustrating days in a VERY boring working environment. So I have been testing this little wonderful invention a few times, and I think I might just have perfected it šŸ™‚ This also becomes very helpful when budgeting, because you can buy very cheap cuts of meat and it comes out tasting like richman’s food!! Well.. I have always felt rich, I suppose it depends on what you add value to, and to me that would be great friends, good food and laughter. Most of all, Love. My Johnny Bravo makes me feel like a princess so often, I might even be one ;-p That would be without the hourglass barbie figure and perfect long hair ;-p

So here we go, let me educate you on my slow cooker education that I have recieved over the few days… and if in doubt, I always ask my friend Amanda which route to take, she has a lot of tips!!Ā  If you don’t have a slow cooker, you could always use a pressure cooker, then the meat will probably be ready within about 30 – 40 minutes. If you are using the slowcooker, you will put all your ingredients in the cooker in the morning, before you leave work and put the setting on slow.

400g Beef skirt / Any cheap cut of meat

2 cans of beer ( I used Fosters)

3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

1 teaspoon of salt

Black pepper

Place your beef in the cooker and season with the salt and some pepper. Now pour over your beer. Put on the lid and switch on your cooker, and when you come home, its succulent and tender, walla!!

So all I did now was make some veggies šŸ™‚

1 courgette, finely chopped

1 big red onion ( 1 small one & 1 medium) finely chopped

1 teaspoon of chopped garlic

Juice of half a lemon

2 shots of dry white wine

1 tablespoon of olive oil

4 or 5 fresh asparagus

handful of finely chopped mint

Pour olive oil in a heated pan. Add your onion and fry for 5 minutes. Now add your courgettes and asparagus. Fry forabout 10 minutes, add your mintĀ and add your lemon juice.

Allow to simmer for a few minutes and add the white wine.

Serve up with some rice, dish up your beef and your veggies and walla!!

Leave a Reply

