Just roll with it…

29 Feb

Which is what I have been doing the last few days. Sometimes you just have to sit back and let life take you where it wants to 🙂 I have found that it actually makes you much less stressed and more energized…. which added to my GREAT decision of joining the gym, FULL on! Obviously, this is the reason why my posts have had no ” meat” on them…. Go to work, go to gym, come home, cook, wash, clean, shower and go to sleep… and the next day all over again.

I have to say, all those crazy, gym-bunny freaks really have quite a good addiction going, it is a great routine…. if you stick to it long enough to become a routine ;-p Yes, yes… I PROMISE, mine will become a routine.. a happy (driving everyone crazy with my energy) routine…   So this dish came up in my mind while I was in a “all level” “all body workout”. What I think about this description… the gym barbie-doll lied!!!! Yes, she did!!!! “All level” means you have to at least have gone to the gym for more than 6 months and weigh less than one of my thighs! Maybe the “All body workout” was true.. because even my face was working out from frowning from all the pain…. yeah, you heard it.. pain… and a LOT of it!

Needless to say, this pain forced me to go to my happy place… and what happy place would this be? Food… food… food!!

I went down the healthy route as my new found happiness is watercress 🙂 Yes, watercress… and what looks pretty with watercress.. Salmon 🙂 Green and pink. Pink was the colour Iof my face halfway into my excercise class… and green was the colour when I walked out of that deep, torturing, dark place… but hey, I got a recipe out of it!! 🙂 Quite simple really, but my Johnny Bravo loved it!!!!

Salmon & Watercress Tart

1 pack of watercress – mine was about 3 handfuls

1 tin of artichokes.. roughly torn

2 pieces of Salmon – baked in the oven for 15 min

2 eggs

250 ml cream / soya cream

1 big red onion, roughly chopped

2 teaspoons of wholegrain mustard

1 teaspoon of crushed garlic

half a holder of goats cheese

parmesan to grate

salt & pepper to taste

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 pack of puff pastry ( I only used half)

Preheat your oven to 180 C.

Heat a frying pan and add your olive oil and onion.

Fry your onion over high heat for about 10 minutes.

While this is frying, you can roll out your pastry and place it in the dish you will use for the tart.  Now, after the onion has fried for 10 minutes, add the garlic and the artichokes. Flavour with salt and pepper. Fry for another 5 minutes.

Place the watercress in the dish, lined with your puff pastry.

Now, gently break the salmon and spread it out over the watercress. Layer with the onion and artichokes.

Crumble over the goats cheese.

Take your cream, eggs & mustard and whisk together. Flavour with a pinch of black pepper.

Pour it over the filling in the puff pastry lined oven dish. Grate over a bit of parmesan and grind over some black pepper.

Place in the oven for 30-45 minutes or until the pastry is puffy, crisp and light brown. Serve up with a lovely, fresh salad!

Leave a Reply

