Happy, shiny people…with Postma pizza

24 May

Finally we are blessed with sun and a beautiful evening! Oh how long we have waited for this!! When they mention in the paper that the tulips have not even come up because it is too cold, then you know how miserable it has been. Nevertheless, I am one of the people in London today that has a wider smile than Julia Roberts! With the scent of summer in the air, evenings getting longer and a little warmer ( lets hope it lasts at least 2 days) I was reminded of my friend Nadine, back in South Africa.

I had the privilege to meet her when my man and I started dating, and what an inspirational woman she is! Whenever we go back to South Africa for a visit, we know we can always pop round at their house. They are family, not just friends. Nadine is a succesful career woman, a mother that I am sure most mothers aspire to, perfect host and a great cook! She is German, did I mention that?

Whenever I feel really down and miss the sun and get togethers with friends and family, I see photographs of her and her family. Thery are an inspiration, always up to something or having great times with friends. So what brought me to this topic? Nadine’s home made pizza!!!!! OH MY WORD!

We spent New Years Eve with them, as we usually do when we are lucky enough to be in South Africa. However, this New Year’s eve we came a little bit early and I found this little missy in the kitchen busy putting toppings on her home made pizza – YES, home made, naturally she made her own dough!!! She made a fair amount, but I don’t need to tell you how quickly it disappeared between all of us.

So tonight I missed that evening. Sitting in the garden, having drinks with good friends, home made pizza, and wait for it, followed by a braai ( barbeque) and raising our heads into the new year. What a cherished time we had with all the friends! So, to be very clear, I ATTEMPTED to make my own pizza… it was yummy, BUT, nowhere near Nadine’s masterpiece. So Nadine, if you are reading this… you do know I expect you to send me your very special recipe.. since we cant be in SA, at least I would like to make that pizza!!!

Dough

600g white bread flour

1 pack of yeast

30ml olive oil

10ml salt

About 300ml lukewarm water

Mix the yeast, olive oil, salt and flour together. Make a well in the middle and pour in the lukewarm water. Add more water if needed. Knead for 10 minutes.

Divide between 2 balls, or if you want smaller pizzas, 4 smaller balls, place in bowls, wiped with olive oil and cover with gladwrap. Allow to rise, double its size. Sprinkle your work surface with some flour and roll out your pizza bases.

Tomato topping:

1 tin of chopped tomatoes

5ml olive oil

pinch of salt

2 heaped teaspoons of mixed herbs

1 teaspoon of chopped garlic

Topping or your choice naturally, but these are the toppings I used

Grated mozzarella

1 Buffalo Mozzarella ball

1 tablespoon of chargrilled aubergine ( Per pizza)

1 teaspoon of capers ( per pizza)

4 slices of salami ( cut in pieces per pizza)

2 avocados, sliced

For the tomato base, add everything to a saucepan and allow to simmer slowly for 15-20 minutes. When this is done, preheat your oven to 200C. Spread your tomato sauce over the pizza bases. Now, add your mozzarella cheese. Add the remaining toppings, keeping the buffalo mozzarella as the final layer, tearing it apart and dividing it between your bases.

Place in the oven for 8-10 minutes until the cheese has melted and the base is nice and crisp.

Remove from the oven and top off with your avocado. If you’re anything like me, have some freshly ground black pepper and tabasco sauce at hand 🙂 Happiness!

Leave a Reply

